Feedback’s a bitch

Part 4 in a series chronicling the One Sorry Blog Baseball Card Sell-Off
By Paul Rivas

Editor’s note: One Sorry Blog founder Paul Rivas is selling off his baseball cards on ebay with seller name onesorryblog, keeping only a precious and worthless few. He intends to sell every last card that will bring money at auction and donate the remaining 30,000 for no tax break. Realizing that his last hurrah in the hobby is upon him, Rivas is recording and reflecting on the experience at One Sorry Blog, the thinking collector’s blog.

Remember that guy who didn’t pay until I took him to ebay court? Well I was struggling with what Feedback to give him, and I finally opted for neutral. Feedback is what each party says about the other after the transaction, and it’s overwhelmingly positive. A legitimate negative Feedback usually means the person is either an idiot or an asshole. After no contact from ebay username greightwhitehype (lame) anytime in the regulation seven-day period following him winning $178.50 in auctions, I filed a dispute, because, damn it, this is a firesale and I’ve got to get this stuff out the door! He paid the next morning (yesterday) and I shipped him the cards the same day WITH FREE INSURANCE to show that I appreciated his paying, even though I’d felt compelled to leave neutral feedback on account of his flakiness.

This morning I fire up ebay and see that the cheeky bastard left me negative Feedback, saying “BAD EBAYER DOES NOT GIVE ANYTIME TO PAY FOR AUCTION!”

I know, huh?

So I sent him a message right away saying:

EBAY POLICY IS 7 DAYS TO PAY. NOT ONLY DID YOU NOT PAY, BUT YOU NEVER EVEN CONTACTED ME. I WAS THE BIGGER MAN HERE AND GAVE YOU NEUTRAL FEEDBACK EVEN WHEN I COULD HAVE GIVEN YOU NEGATIVE, AND HERE YOU GO AND SCREW ME! AND ALL OF THIS AFTER I SHIPPED YOUR ITEMS THE SAME DAY I RECEIVED PAYMENT AND WITH FREE INSURANCE!!! YOU LOW-RENT PUNK!!! YOU SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF YOURSELF. YOU’RE A DISGRACE TO THE HOBBY AND TO EBAY.

I then logged on to gmail and saw that he had also followed up the negative Feedback he he left with a proposal that we mutually remove the feedback we left about each other. Since I’d already given him a good written undressing, I reluctantly accepted. When I see a negative comment, I always go and read what the other side said. I’m confident that people would do this in my case, particularly since these two negatives (two items sold to this gypsy) are coming after three glowing positives, the entirety of my Feedback, but I’d still rather not have 40% of my Feedback coming from this blackmailer. After more than 100 transactions over the years, I’ve never had a negative Feedback on ebay, and I’d just as soon keep it that way.

His excuse was that he’d been out of town and couldn’t get to a computer. Then how did he ever bid? And why didn’t he say so when he made that Immaculate Bid?

What do you folks think happened here? Do you think he was trying to either not pay or screw me from the beginning? Did I overract to his having gone in the tank for a week?

One response to “Feedback’s a bitch

  1. There is a forum I found on the internet that is free, and helps with Ebay, PayPal, business and the law. Just post any question, the experts will answer it if it has not already been answered!

    Feedback removal is a heavy topic there.

    The forum has a lot of expert advice on it. http://www.modeeworld.com/forums I found advice there about how to avoid EBAY suspensions, get past PayPal limitations, also lots of detailed help on creating your own business, getting past trademark violations, VERO and lots more. Plus general advice on how best to sell on EBAY, what sells the best, how to get the best price for your product, really everything related to EBAY and internet business.

    Also advice about how EBAY really works and how PayPal really works. The inside scoop.

    Beautiful forum. I was made a moderator of the forum and I love it!

Leave a Reply

